West Indies announce squad for 1st Test against England



West Indies announce squad for 1st Test against England

West Indies announce squad for 1st Test against England

24 February 2022  Authorbet365baji

England and the West Indies will lock horns in a three-match Test series beginning March 8, following a thrilling five-match T20I series. While the hosts would like to win the Tests, the English squad would like to apologise in the traditional format after losing the T20Is by 2-3. The West Indies have announced their squad for the series opener at Sir Vivian Richards Stadium in Antigua, with a bowler making his debut and a batter recalled in the red-ball setup.

The Caribbean team for the first Test against England, as well as the CWI President's XI squad for the four-day warm-up match to be conducted at the Coolidge Cricket Ground (CCG) from March 1 to 4, were named by the West Indies Cricket Selection Panel in a press release published on February 22.

Anderson Phillip, a young fast bowler, has been called up for the first time by the West Indies for the first Test against England, while opener John Campbell has been returned to the hosts' team. Kraigg Brathwaite will lead the Windies, who Jermaine Blackwood will assist. Jason Holder, Kyle Mayers, Alzarri Joseph, Kemar Roach, and others are notable names.

The Caribbean squad will gather in Antigua on February 25 for a training camp ahead of the three-match Test series, according to the CWI announcement. The 2nd Test was played on March 16 at Kensington Oval in Barbados, with the final match taking place on March 24 at Grenada's National Cricket Stadium. After a humbling 0-4 Ashes thrashing at the hands of arch-rivals Australia in December-January, the Joe Root-led England side will be looking for a turnaround in Test cricket fortunes.

West Indies 1st Test squad England: Kraigg Brathwaite (c), Jermaine Blackwood (vc), Kemar Roach, Nkrumah Bonner, John Campbell, Joshua Da Silva, Jason Holder, Alzarri Joseph, Kyle Mayers, Shamarh Brooks, Veerasammy Permaul, Anderson Phillip, Jayden Seales