Chris Morris and Anrich Nortje will absent from the CPL 2021



Chris Morris and Anrich Nortje will absent from the CPL 2021

Chris Morris and Anrich Nortje will absent from the CPL 2021

August 20, 2021  Authorbet365baji

The Caribbean Premier League is set to kick off on August 28. However, even before the first ball was bowled, the franchises had to change their plans and reveal a whole new squad due to the absence of a few overseas players due to national obligations. Chris Morris and Anrich Norjte, both from South Africa, are notable omissions. While Anrich Norjte will be unable to participate in the CPL due to a series against Sri Lanka, Chris Morris has opted out for personal reasons.

Wanidu Hasaranga and Rassie van der Dussen will also be unavailable for the T20 event. Glenn Phillips, who will play for the Barbados Royals, has been named Morris' substitute player. Due to his all-round abilities, the fast bowler has become one of the hottest properties in franchise cricket. Morris has always been a prominent player for his different clubs, whether in the Indian Premier League (IPL) or the Big Bash League (BBL).

Meanwhile, Paul van Meekeren of the Netherlands has been named a replacement for South African combo Norjte and van der Dussen by St Kitts & Nevis Patriots. Meanwhile, Faf du Plessis has been retained as captain of the St Lucia Kings, which is wonderful news. His participation, however, will be contingent on how he recovers from the concussion that forced him to withdraw from the Hundred.

Warner Park had previously been named as the venue for the CPL matches, which took place from August 26 to September 15. Because of the pandemic, the Cricket West Indies (CWI) will only allow half of the crowds to watch the games live from the stadium. The only requirement is that fans provide proof of vaccination.

Due to the second half of the IPL starting on September 19 in the UAE, the CPL schedule has been pushed back a few days. Most West Indian players participate in the IPL, including Chris Gayle, Nicholas Pooran, Kieron Pollard, and Dwyane Bravo. As a result, CWI and BCCI reached an agreement to postpone the CPL to not conflict with the IPL.