Pakistan’s Babar Azam made it to the top list



Pakistan’s Babar Azam made it to the top list

Pakistan’s Babar Azam made it to the top list

November 18, 2021  Authorbet365baji

No Indian cricketer was chosen to the ICC's T20 World Cup Most Valuable Team of the Tournament, which included players from six teams and a 12th man. The ICC announced the selection a day after Australia won the T20 World Cup 2021 by eliminating New Zealand by 8 wickets in the final. The competition's excellent team included players from the victors Australia, runners-up New Zealand, semifinalists Pakistan, and England. The ICC's star-studded squad also includes players from Sri Lanka and South Africa. Babar Azam of Pakistan was appointed captain, and David Warner, the event's player of the tournament, was one of the XI's openers.

England's Jos Buttler has been selected as the wicket-keeper batter; he also will open with Warner. At the same time, his teammate Moeen Ali has been named as the No.6 batter. Charith Asalanka of Sri Lanka and Aiden Markram of South Africa bat at Nos. 4 and 5, respectively, with captain Babar batting at No. 3.

Apart from all-rounder Moeen Ali, Sri Lanka's Wanindu Hasanranga (16 wickets) and Australia's Adam Zampa made it to the top (13 wickets). Hasanranga was the tournament's leading wicket-taker, and he also had a hat-trick in a Super 12 game against South Africa, which his team lost in the final over.

Josh Hazlewood (11 wickets), New Zealand's left-arm bowler Trent Boult (13 wickets), and South Africa's Anrich Nortje were all named to the XI (9 wickets).

The selection was determined by a panel of analysts, former international cricketers, and the media, according to the ICC.

One of the members of the panel – Ian Bishop said, as with any team selection, there will be differing viewpoints and heated debate about the squad's final composition. He added that the panel recognises this, and we look forward to the lively discussion that will develop.

Bishop also commented that selections were made mostly on the basis of the Super 12 and onward to the final and it was quite a challenge to pick this team as it was a very competitive game.

Here is the team, in batting order, that have made it to the top for the T20 World Cup:

David Warner (AUS) - 289 runs at 48.16
Jos Buttler (wk) (ENG) - 269 runs at 89.66, 5 dismissals
Babar Azam (PAK) - 303 runs at 60.60
Charith Asalanka (LKA) - 231 runs at 46.20
Markram (SA) - 162 runs at 54.00
Moeen Ali (ENF) - 92 runs at 131.42, 7 wickets at 11
Wanindu Hasaranga (LKA) - 16 wickets at 9.75
Adam Zampa (AUS) - 13 wickets at 12.07
Josh Hazlewood (AUS) - 11 wickets at 15.90
Trent Boult (NZ) - 13 wickets at 13.30
Anrich Nortje (SA) - 9 wickets at 11.55
Shaheen Afridi (PAK) - 7 wickets at 24.14 - was selected as the 12th player.