Details on the upcoming Bangladesh Premier League



Details on the upcoming Bangladesh Premier League

Details on the upcoming Bangladesh Premier League

January 24, 2022  Authorbet365baji

After the 2019-20 season, the Bangladesh Premier League (BBL) is back. Due to the spread of the COVID-19 pandemic, the last two seasons were cancelled. The competition will begin on January 21 with Chattogram Challengers taking against Fortune Barisal in the first game. On February 18, the final will be held.

The competition will be limited to only six teams this time. The event will take place at three distinct locations: Sylhet International Cricket Stadium, Dhaka's Sher-e-Bangla National Stadium, and Chattogram's Zahur Ahmed Chowdhury Stadium.

The tournament's eighth edition will feature a round-robin and playoffs format, with each team playing 34 league matches followed by four playoff matches. The competition will be played behind closed doors because of the new OMICRON version, according to the Bangladesh Cricket Board.

The Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) organises the BPL, which was last held in 2019. The competition was renamed Bangabandhu BPL T20 for the 2019 edition to honour Sheikh Mujibur Rahman's 100th birthday.

The 2021-22 season was supposed to begin in March but was postponed, and the 2020 season was cancelled owing to the COVID-19 pandemic.

The BPL begins with a double-round-robin format, in which each side plays each other twice. The top two teams go to Qualifier 1, with the winner advancing to the final. In an elimination match, the third and fourth teams will face off, with the winner progressing to Qualifier 2. Qualifier 2's winner advances to the final.

The Dhaka Gladiators won the first two editions of the Bangladesh Premier League. They were dissolved and sold in 2013, as well as relaunched as the Dhaka Dynamites. The 2016-17 season was won by the Dynamites. Comilla Victorians won the BPL in both 2015-16 and 2018-19 seasons. In 2017-18, Rangpur Riders won their first trophy. Rajshahi Royals defeated Khulna Tigers in the final to win the special edition of the Bangladesh Premier League 2019.